Crafts… Anyone?

(I am participating in the ‘Ready For Rewards’ activity for Rewardme in association with BlogAdda.)

For starters, I’ll make a confession. In all my school life, I have been horrible (with a capital H) in crafts. I never managed to do them and I used to reap grades in ’em only because my family, especially my parents & my siblings had saved my reputation of the topper being a failure in crafts. It had saved the grades too. So imagine my surprise and shock when I discovered my talent in crafts years up the lane, now that I couldn’t earn those grades on my own. Gah! Life, I tell you!
Because of this activity ‘Ready for Rewards’ on part of BlogAdda, I’d surfed through the website RewardMe and I literally had to stop myself from putting the phone and rushing right away to create some crafts. There have been some brilliant articles in the section ‘Crafts‘. Do have a look at it.

I think as part of hobbies, everyone who thinks they can or cannot make things, should have a go at crafts. Firstly, it tests your patience. No matter how many times you fail at some difficult crafts (like origami) and you will fail because as easy crafts might look, let me tell you from first-hand experience, that serves just as a disguise. Crafts keep getting harder and harder and you gotta keep going at it. Till you have clinched it. As they say, the fruits of patience are often sweeter more.
Secondly, it shows off your own unique perspective of looking at the ordinary things, giving them a new meaning. When you’re able to do that, it kind of gives a new confidence in yourself. In being able to give your own meaning, in creating your own piece of work, the joy and happiness that comes with it, one just have to feel it.
Thirdly, it is so much fun to work with crafting materials. It is almost like playing, except that here you can create amazing stuffs and show them off to your friends and relatives. Most importantly, you can look at them back in wonder, many years down the lane. (I know I will, with wet eyes. *sniff sniff*)

 
So, long story short: Give crafts a try, at least once in your life. I bet you’d be addicted to it. Like I am. Though if you’re a night owl, then forget about your sleep, like me. But the glitter in your eyes and the satisfaction on holding your own work will put your dark circles to shame any day. Worth it, as they say. I say the same.

2 thoughts on “Crafts… Anyone?

  1. These are the small joys of life. I so remember when we did some craft work during our school days. Sadly, these days, iPads and the technology boom is shifting people from such simple joys to something more sedentary and dull.

Leave a Reply

